Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Program 2021

Congratulations to the following students for being named Commended and Semi-Finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. During the fall of their junior year, students across the nation take the PSAT, and the top scores are then established. The National Merit Scholarship Program, dating back to 1955, holds an annual academic competition identifying and honoring these high school students in the U.S. through recognition and college scholarships. Less than 3% of the 1.5 million students in 21,000 high schools who take this test will become a recipient of the awarded Letters of Commendation. Eight of our students received the honor of Commended status: Matthew LaCapra, Arnaud Lamy, Sarah Lynch, Augustine Maiorino, Julianne Massa, Shane McAteer, John ReyMartin, and Sierra Rosado.
In order to truly appreciate how rare it is to then be identified as a Semi-Finalist, only less than 1% advance as a Semi-Finalist, and this year that honor goes to one student: Matthew Ross, who received this distinguished recognition at the high school. Superintendent, Robert C. Fenter shared, “We are very proud of our National Merit Scholarship winners, for this distinction recognizes the hard work and commitment of our students, the support they have received from their parents and teachers, as well as the community support for our fine schools.” Congratulations to all!